Stacy sews her own destruction…

Tonight is my first official writing group meeting. A writing group that I started.

And I’m terrified.

Terrified to the point of feeling absolutely paralyzed by the simple task of choosing a writing sample to share.

I’ve known for a month that I needed to have something to take tonight, but have I prepared anything? No. Well, I mean, I have a whole novel to choose from and some 10k words on my latest project as well.

Aside from my recent computer troubles (I was able to retrieve my second file this morning – thank you safe mode), I feel like I’m forcing my work on people who are not my audience. And it’s a first draft, so, you know, it’s rough and has a lot of problems and I feel too distracted to do editing. You’d think that with 100k words to choose from I could come up with a 2,500 or less selection…But it seems like an impossible feat.

Sharing unpolished work takes a lot of courage. And trust.

I’m not feeling courageous and trusting today.

My husband tells me that the content of my writing doesn’t matter as long as the writing is done well. That I’m trying to help people be better writers so all that really matters is technique. And that I need to be confident because I’m a leader now whether I want to be or not.

And I would add that maybe I should put away my ego because this writing group has never been about me.

I hate his pep talks…they’re frustratingly helpful…

I’ll come up with something by the end of the day, I’m sure.

‘Last minute awesome’ is my middle name.

Leave a Reply

