Recent Good Reads – The Hollow City

This is the first in a series of regular posts that I’m calling ‘Recent Good Reads’ – because I read a lot – and I do like to talk about the books I read – but the only other adult in my house doesn’t share my passion for reading (I still love him, though) – so, congratulations(!) – you, dear readers will be subjected to my ramblings instead. (it’s an excessive hyphens sort of day)

Hollow City

Today’s book is The Hollow City by Dan Wells.

I got this book from my parents last Christmas and it’s been chillin’ on my shelf ever since (I did get a massive stack of books last Christmas and I make regular trips to the library so, you know, I have plenty of lame excuses). I read it as a reward for surviving NaNoWriMo. As I usually don’t do any reading during November, now I’m behind on my yearly goal of 50. I have ten more to go. Thank you GoodReads for helping me keep track (and reminding me that I’m six books behind and failing at life – so helpful of you).

I love Dan Wells’ books.

I’d never read anything in the horror genre, before picking up I Am Not A Serial Killer, but I’d been listening to the Writing Excuses podcast for awhile and wanted to check out his work. I loved I Am Not A Serial Killer, so I went and bought the rest of the series and loved those, too. And then there’s Partials – which is YA Sci-Fi (probably Stacy’s favorite genre). It’s awesome, you should read it – and Fragments is even better, so you should read that one, too.

Dan Wells is meticulous. You can tell the man does his research and really thinks about the worlds he creates. And then he comes up with these wonderful, flawed characters (sociopaths, schizophrenics, androids) and he makes us care about them and root for them.

I don’t even know how to classify The Hollow City – sci-fi horror maybe?

I didn’t know if I was going to like it – and only vaguely recalled what it was about (too lazy to read the front cover blurb) – but I couldn’t put it down!

One of the things that makes this book interesting is that you have a completely unreliable narrator. The main character, Michael, has schizophrenia so as a reader, you’re really not sure what’s real and what isn’t. And his thought process is absolutely fascinating. I was convinced that his delusions were real and Mr. Wells presents Michael’s point of view in such a way that his delusions and reasons for believing them made perfect sense.

And then the plot went in some unexpected directions…hey, I like being able to figure stuff out before I get to the reveal, but I like not knowing, too.

Conclusion: Dan Wells just writes fantastic books. Go check this one out!

 

* This post contains links for Amazon Affiliates.

Leave a Reply

