And then December Happened…

I was feeling optimistic about December.

I had thought I would make some posts on this blog post NaNoWriMo. Alas, good intentions in December are simply never enough.

Truthfully, October, November and December are the worst months of the year for me – physically and mentally – and hence, stressful. I don’t mind being busy so much, but stress gives me anxiety.

First, there’s Halloween – I always make costumes for the kids. There was no eleventh hour sewing/crafting this year but I didn’t finish until the last week of the month.

And then NaNoWriMo comes up – which I’ve done for the last two years  – and I love doing it – don’t get me wrong- but it does suck two hours out of every day. At Thanksgiving we usually travel, though we didn’t this year (it was so relaxing!).

Then there’s Christmas.

I love Christmas, really, but we always travel which means I have to be done with all my projects and shopping and shipping by, like, the first week of December – and then I have to clean and organize the house before we leave and make desserts and a whole slew of other things that just seem to pile up. I always plan to do much more than is physically possible. The self induced stress inevitably kills my motivation and I assume a mental fetal position from about the second week of December through the New Year. The end result being that I usually accomplish nothing

This year was no exception to this, despite my best efforts to tone it down and let things go undone and to just say ‘no’ when people asked me to do things.

Understandably, I haven’t felt like writing – here or elsewhere, though I have been thinking about it and jotting down ideas and working out plot points in my head.

In the new year, I need to get a move on. No time for a post-Christmas funk.

One of my writing goals this year is to get through the second draft of my novel Stole.

My second goal is to finish another book this year. I’m not sure what it’s going to be yet (perhaps a sequel to Stole, perhaps not), but I’m determined to enjoy writing it.

Here’s to a productive new year!

Leave a Reply

