April Goals

These last few months have been difficult.  My motivation to do anything has been close to zero, including writing (even though I enjoy it very much when I do pull myself out of the doldrums). Survival mode is my default setting these days. But who wants that – just survival, you know?

Definitely not me.

So, I’m determined to do something about it….it’s almost April, afterall. I can’t really believe that but there it is… Last April, I started a novel….and actually finished it (a few months later) as part of Camp NaNoWriMo.

As you’ve probably noticed, I’m a huge supporter of NaNoWriMo. I think it’s a great way for people like me – who have a hard time making goals and sticking to them (I’m beholden to no one!) – to actually…you know, make goals and stick to themCamp NaNoWriMo is an offshoot of that, which takes place in the Spring and Summer (April and July this year). The word count goals are flexible, but it’s the same basic principle as the real NaNoWriMo.

And I’ve decided to do Camp again this year. Call me crazy – goodness knows I don’t have the time – but darn it, I need this!

What am I going to work on, you ask?

Well, the very first NaNoWriMo project that I did back in 2012 was simultaneously a triumph and a complete disaster. It was too short (50k for a fantasy….); the name is terrible; I hated what happened (mostly); and I totally botched juggling two viewpoints. It’s fantasy, which I’ve learned does not come easily for me. The whole thing had very few redeeming qualities. But I still liked the characters – they needed work, but I liked them. I’ve since given the  whole plot/world/characters a lot of thought. I think that after a year and half I’ve finally figured out how to fix it (mostly).

And so I’m planning to throw out 99% of the prose I’ve written and start from scratch. Who knows, maybe it’ll turn out awesome this time…Scratch that – it will turn it out awesome.

Leave a Reply

