NaNoWriMo Retrospective – 2014

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

Despite having left the first 39,000 words of my manuscript on my home computer when I went out of town for Thanksgiving and feeling like I had no idea what to write this last week – it’s over.

And I’ve done it!

This is the third year in a row that I’ve done this crazy NaNoWriMo thing (my husband is excited to get his wife back, by the way) and I have to say, I just really love it and I’m so glad I found it and was determined enough to see it through that first year and every year after that.  ( ‘and’ overload – deal with it)

What I love about NaNoWriMo is the habit it gets you into – of making time for writing every day.

I wish I had the discipline to write every day of the year, even if it was just a few hundred words. That’s definitely something that I need to work on in the future. I have a lot of unfinished writing projects that need some quality time.

Also, it’s funny how, in this process, I prove myself wrong over and over.

I’ve tried to convince myself so many times that I simple cannot write certain genres.

Here are some conversations I’ve had with myself:

“You’re not creative enough to write fantasy.”

“You’re not smart enough to write science fiction.”

“Historical fiction is not for you because researching stuff makes you want to puke.”

In reality, I’ve tried all these things and there is no such thing as ‘not creative enough’ or ‘not smart enough’ or ‘researching stuff makes me want to puke’ if I’m interested in what I’m writing.

I started out this year’s NaNoWriMo project envisioning a near future sci-fi thing and – because of some early feedback – I decided to change it to be both a near-future sci-fi thing as well as an alternate history thing. And I have loved every minute of the ‘ugly’ researching aspect (thank you Wikipedia). It’s fascinating to learn about the etymology for expressions or words you’re using and also to discover the origin for the objects you’re putting into your world (like when things were invented and when they became used by the general population). (Seriously, how did authors function before the the internet? I shudder to think…)

So here’s to another year of breaking out of my comfort zone and proving that if I put my mind to it, I really can accomplish anything.

Time to start planning for next year…

Thanks for reading,

~Stacy

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Retrospective – 2014

  1. Congratulations! I love your attitude. You’re right, there is no such thing as not smart or creative or whatever enough. You’ve just got to put your mind to it and you can do it! Congrats again!

Leave a Reply

